Office of NCTracks Logo
Office of NCTracks Logo

Provider Taxonomy Lookup

To find a provider’s location, enter an NPI number or EIN. You will receive up to 15 taxonomies for that location.


Taxonomy codes are a national code set managed by the National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC). These codes allow providers to identify their types, specialties and classifications.

NC DHHS and its fiscal agent, the Computer Sciences Corporation (CSC), are utilizing taxonomy codes to classify health care providers by the services they provide.

Taxonomy codes are:

  • Maintained on the provider’s record and must be verified based on licenses and certifications.
  • Submitted to NCTracks on claims and other items like prior approvals.
  • Used during adjudication.

Taxonomy codes have defined levels such as provider type, classification, and specialization. These levels are viewable and part of the provider record.

The taxonomy code on the claim must match the taxonomy code on the provider’s record or else the claim will be denied.